“Why I converted to Islam’ – former actress Vivian Metchie opens up

image

Recently divorced Nollywood actress Vivian Metchie says she
recently adopted the Islamic faith because she found the
Christian faith too confusing. Speaking with Yes! magazine
on her conversion, Ms Metchie said it was a personal
decision she had to take…
“Yeah it is personal. I understand the Koran more than
the bible. All of a sudden, the Christian confusion was
driving me nuts. My dad was catholic, my mum was
Deeper Life, I married someone in the Redeemed Church
and then all of a sudden, the few religions had
something bad to say about each other. I just couldn’t
take it anymore. A friend of mine who is close to me
said that once you are grounded on the word, it wont be
confusing. Unfortunately, maybe I wasn’t grounded in
the word, but I still could see what I see. But in my
quest and study and research, I don’t know: I was
probably looking for peace. Yeah! That was what I was
looking for and I found it in the Koran”.
The mother of 4 who has adopted Fareedah as her muslim
name says her decision was well received and respected by
her dad who has since stopped calling her by her native
name and now calls her Fareedah.

Leave a comment